Seyahatname

Photography, travel, visual distraction

Boğazı geçmek

with 9 comments

I probably have the best commute to work in the world. It involves taking a ferry, and crossing continents.

One of the first times I visited Istanbul, I stayed on the Asian side in Kadıköy and crossing the Bosphorous was probably the best part of my day. I knew that if I moved to the Asian side, the ferry rides to and from work would be lovely, but was still worried about the length of the commute. I really should thank E. for convincing me otherwise (“I told you so!”, she said the other day, when I said how much I love my daily ferry rides). From Üsküdar, the European shore is very close. Somewhere between eight to twelve minutes. That is actually a boon in a city where the traffic seems to get exponentially worse by the day. As they say, in Istanbul ALWAYS take the ferry.

Of course, it’s not the ease of the commute (or not just) but the beauty of it that is so wonderful. When I was not staying near the Bosphorous, the very sight of it would make me squeal with glee. I now see it every single day and my joy at the sight of the water does not seem to have diminished. One of the wonders of taking the ferry every single day (or even just seeing the Bosphorous from my house) is the realisation of just how beautiful it always is. It is not the same everyday, of course, but it is like staring at a beautiful picture postcard every single time. Mükemmel.

Last week, I decided I should take my camera with me on my daily commute. I carried my tiny point-and-shoot and rather than take photos of the shoreline, I ended up with a memory card full of photos of my fellow commuters. I think they all enjoy their commute as much as I do. There is a certain sakin-ness that permeates each Bosphorous boat ride, everyone disconnecting from the world slightly. Taking those ten minutes to stare out at the strait and the sea and enjoy the view, even if it is in-between phone calls, text messages and conversations.

Written by szerlem

April 1, 2012 at 07:10

Posted in Istanbul

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I told you so!

    R

    April 1, 2012 at 10:39

  2. Oh god…

    Ludwig

    April 3, 2012 at 02:52

    • Is that a sigh of longing?

      szerlem

      April 5, 2012 at 12:49

      • I refer you to the popular query about the alimentary behaviour of ursines in boscage.

        Ludwig

        April 5, 2012 at 17:23

      • Please enlighten me — I have no clue.

        szerlem

        April 6, 2012 at 09:27

  3. My my. Such innocence. For one who crosses the Bosphorus twice a day (my brain nearly exploded from envy as I typed those words, so thank your lucky stars I survived to continue like so…), you are singularly ill informed on ursine phenomenology. I will leave you in that state of distress.

    Though, back in the day (i.e. 2 months back), I had occasion to post a Facebook update to the effect that “Oh, it’s such a bother when you get off at the wrong bus stand and end up in Omdurman instead of Khartoum and have to cross the Nile all over again in the winter afternoon sun…” That, pretty much, was the high point of my life. You on the other hand are on some ridiculous Tibetan plateau of bliss. I may have to unsubscribe from your RSS feed. Why is my comment so long and rambling? Bah.

    Ludwig

    April 6, 2012 at 13:09

    • Sorry I dropped off the face of the earth! Lest it be said that I am ingrateful, I just wanted to state that there is not a single ferry ride that I don’t feel very grateful for! Crossing the Nile: I am jealous.

      szerlem

      April 23, 2012 at 10:38

      • For a moment there I thought I may have actually struck you dumb by my cool Nile crossing exploits. Clearly not. Hmph. May you have many more happy crossings. Till helle phrixus over, anyway 🙂 (I have made my day with that pun, oh me.)

        Ludwig

        April 24, 2012 at 09:46

  4. Gosh …you make me so envious.

    Get me a job there, and I will wash my hands of all current ventures and be there in a heartbeat !

    Rajib

    April 23, 2012 at 13:59


Leave a Reply

